Vaughan Williams and the English tradition

Natalia Lomeiko violin
Yuri Zhislin conductor
Bristol Ensemble

Vaughan Williams
Concerto Grosso
Fantasia on Greensleeves
The Lark Ascending
Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus
Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Bristol Ensemble celebrates the 150th anniversary of the birth of one of England’s greatest composers, Ralph Vaughan Williams.  Their programme will include some of his most popular works, two of which have local connections.

The orchestra is joined by the renowned Russian violinist Natalia Lomeiko to perform Vaughan Williams’ treasured work, The Lark Ascending. Inspired by a George Meredith poem of the same name and always tops the Classic FM Hall of Fame, it was originally written for solo violin and piano, and first performed at Shirehampton Public Hall in 1920. Two Fantasias make up the programme, the second of which is based on a psalm tune written by Renaissance composer Thomas Tallis, and was premiered at the Three Choirs Festival in Gloucester Cathedral ten years before The Lark’s first outing.