University of Bristol lunchtime concert

Bristol Ensemble

John Pickard conductor

Webern Symphony Op.21
Schoenberg Chamber Symphony No.1 Op.9 (original version for 15 instruments)

The Bristol Ensemble presents two of twentieth century music’s greatest masterpieces. Schoenberg’s super-concentrated Chamber Symphony of 1906 distills the essence of the late-Romantic symphony into 20 action-packed minutes, while Webern’s extraordinary Symphony of 1928, scored for just nine players, has been described by the composer George Benjamin as ‘weightless – a complex, crystal-like object hovering in space’.

Free entry