Thornbury Autumn Concert


Alessandro Marcello Oboe Concerto in D minor, S D935
Ástor Piazzolla Oblivion
Ástor Piazzolla Autumn in Buenos Aires
Bach Concerto for Two Violins BWV 1043
Antonio Vivaldi Autumn from The Four Seasons RV 293

The Armstrong Arts Group is pleased to present a treat for Thornbury and beyond. The concert by members of the Bristol Ensemble, Bristol’s professional chamber orchestra led by violinist Roger Huckle, with soloist Imogen Triner, will once again visit Thornbury with a concert of popular classical music.

The concert features Marcello’s Oboe Concerto, which includes one of the most beautiful Adagios of the Baroque period. Alessandro Marcello was an Italian nobleman and musician who knew how to write a good melody. The gorgeous solo lines of the adagio of his oboe concerto in D minor makes this a most engaging piece.

Piazzolla’s Oblivion – Ástor Piazzolla is the world’s foremost composer of Tango music. This hauntingly atmospheric piece was written in 1982. Oblivion conjures up a complex mix of emotions which cannot be put into words.

Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins – this has been described as the best eight minutes of music ever, expressing a high-octane contrapuntal conversation within the piece.

Two seasonal pieces complete the programme, both entitled Autumn, the first by Piazzolla and the second by Vivaldi. Piazzolla’s brings a Southern American feel, whilst Vivaldi’s is a lively and colourful work around the themes of new wine and hunting.

The concert is sponsored by the Joan Hawkins fund at Quartet Community Foundation. Tickets cost £18, to include wine or juice, and are available by emailing armstrongartsgroupthornbury or by phone on 01454 850933