Tea-Time Concert

Antonín Dvořák Four Romantic Pieces Op. 75
Bedřich Smetana Piano Trio in G minor Op.15

Roger Huckle violin
Harriet Wiltshire cello
Paul Israel piano

Czech chamber music features in this tea-time recital, with works from two of the country’s leading composers of the 19th century.

Antonin Dvorák was a great champion of chamber music and took as much pride and pleasure in his small-scale compositions as in his orchestral works. In 1887 he wrote a set of string trios to play himself with two friends, including his mother-in-law’s lodger who was a chemistry student and amateur violinist. He then arranged the movements, rescoring them for violin and piano and they became the Four Romantic Pieces, a beautiful and lyrical set of pieces.

By contrast to this light-hearted domestic music-making, Smetana’s Piano Trio in G minor is briming with emotional intensity as it was written in the wake of the death of the composer’s daughter from Scarlet Fever. It is a dark and passionate work, but ends with a sense of hope and optimism in the major key.

Tickets £10 on the door