Tea-Time Concert


Vivaldi Bassoon Concerto in E minor RV 484
Vivaldi Flute Concerto ‘Il Gardellino’, RV 428
Vivaldi Violin Concerto In A Minor RV 356
Isabella Leonarda Sonata For 2 Violins Op. 16 No. 1 [composer profile]

Sally Bartholomew bassoon
Roger Armstrong flute
Roger Huckle violin
Simon Kodurand violin

Be transported to Vivaldi’s Venice in this celebration of the composer’s flamboyant and exhilarating works which remain universally popular because of their ability to speak directly to the heart of the listener. Principals of the Bristol Ensemble perform dazzling concertos displaying exquisite beauty and abundant vitality.

The programme also include the Sonata for Two Violins by the 17th century composer Isabella Leonarda, one of a set of 11 sonatas which were the earliest published instrumental works by a woman. The daughter of a prominent family of Novara, 40km west of Milan, Leonarda spent almost her entire adult life cloistered at the Collegio di Sant’Orsola, composing around 200 pieces. Throughout 2018, Bristol Ensemble is programming music by women composers, marking the 100th anniversary of women in Great Britain getting the vote.

Tickets £10 on the door