Tea-Time Concert

Bristol Ensemble

Beethoven Septet in E flat, Op.20

Roger Huckle violin
Carl Hill viola
Jane Fenton cello
Jub Davis double bass
David Pagett clarinet
Sally Bartholomew bassoon
Mark Kane horn

Written in 1799 and premiered in 1800, Beethoven’s Septet in E flat major enjoyed immediate and enduring success due to its youthful charm, elegance and grace, thematic richness and imaginative and skilful treatment of its motifs. Ingeniously scored for violin, viola, cello, double bass, clarinet, horn and bassoon, Beethoven is able to use the forces in a range of ever-changing instrumental textures and colour combinations, with bassoon and cello freed from the traditional bass part by the presence of the double bass. The Septet’s six movements follow a traditional classical symphony structure with the addition of a Theme and Variations and a lively Scherzo.

Tickets £10 on the door.