Tea-Time Concert: Pictures from Paris I

Autumn on the Seine

César Franck Violin Sonata in A Major
Claude Debussy Two Preludes: ‘Les collines d’Anacapri’ and ‘Dans le style et le mouvement d’un Cakewalk’
Gabriel Fauré Berceuse, Op. 16

Roger Huckle violin
Paul Israel piano

A programme of music by French composers, all written within 30 years from 1879. Roger Huckle and Paul Israel of the Bristol Ensemble perform Franck’s lyrical Violin Sonata, written for the Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe on the occasion of his marriage in 1886. Treasured for its songlike motifs and themes which recur throughout its four movements, the work is beautifully balanced between piano and violin, and the piece is among Franck’s most frequently performed compositions. 

As well as Fauré’s serene Berceuse for violin and piano, the programme also includes piano solos by Debussy.

Tickets £10 on the door.