Online Baroque concert

Online Baroque concert - 31 January 2021

Concerts and Events

January 31, 2021
6:00 pm

G. F. Handel Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
J.S. Bach Brandenburg Concerto No.4 BWV 1049
John Rutter First movement of Suite Antique
Interview with Imogen Triner and Kim Keeble

Simon Kodurand director / violin 
Hugh Blogg violin
Amelia Grenfell violin
Carl Hill viola
Jane Fenton cello
Jub Davis double bass
Julian Perkins harpsichord
Roger Armstrong flute
Imogen Triner recorder
Kim Keeble recorder

Filmed at St George’s Bristol in October 2020, join Bristol Ensemble for a concert of sparkling music from the Baroque, and John Rutter’s tapestry of styles from across the centuries.

Bach’s Fourth Brandenburg Concerto interweaves two sprightly recorders with solo violin, performed in this concert by Hugh Blogg, against a backdrop of strings. The joyful Allegro is followed by a contemplative Andante, and the finale is a sparkling fugal movement with plenty of opportunity for the soloists to demonstrate their virtuosity.

John Rutter’s six movement Suite Antique explores a variety of Baroque and Classical styles from a Bach-like Aria to a ‘Richard Rodgers-style Waltz’. In this concert, the first movement Prelude will be performed.

The concert will be streamed at 6pm on 31 January, and will be available to rewatch until 14 February. Ticket holders can return via the same link that is in the e-ticket pdf.

The e-ticket is available to download after the checkout process is completed, and you will also receive a link in a confirmation email that is sent immediately after your payment has been completed. If you aren’t able to download the e-ticket and don’t receive the email, please get in touch. We will also be monitoring the email in the hour or so before the concert gets under way to help if you have any problems accessing the stream. Please email