Minimalists II

Bristol Ensemble
Choir of Royal Holloway
Rupert Gough conductor
Roger Huckle director
Arvo Pärt Adam’s Lament
Arvo Pärt Festina Lente
Arvo Pärt Salve Regina
Arvo Pärt Symphony No. 4 ‘Los Angeles’

Along with Steve Reich, Arvo Pärt is considered one of today’s leading contemporary composers and has created his own instantly recognisable style. The Bristol Ensemble is joined by the Choir of Royal Holloway to perform the mystical Salve Regina and Adam’s Lament, a work representing “humankind in its entirety and each individual person alike” through its depiction of the ‘fallen Adam’.

At the heart of the programme is the Symphony No.4 ‘Los Angeles’, the first of Pärt’s symphonies to be written in his signature tintinnabuli style after 1976, and the first of his works that focuses on larger scale, instrumental tintinnabulation. The programme is completed with the meditative miniature Sestina Lente.

Tickets £12 to £23 from St George’s Bristol box office on 0845 40 24 001 or online at On sale now