Henleaze Concert Society

Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence Op.70
Philip Glass String Sextet
Philip Glass String Quartet No.2 ‘Company’

Tchaikovsky’s string sextet Souvenir de Florence was written following a visit to Italy and exhibits plenty of Russian passion and fervour, combined with Italian lyricism and brilliance. Scored for two violins, two violas and two cellos, it is symphonic in its sonority and texture, with plenty of opportunity to display the players’ virtuosity. In contrast to the thick textures of late 19th century Russia, Philip Glass’ String Sextet and Second String Quartet explore the soundworld of minimalism which despite its conciseness of material, is rich and compelling.

Season Tickets

Only £70 including Society Membership and admission to all six series concerts. The season runs from September to July.

Annual society membership – £10
Becoming a member of Henleaze Concert Society entitles you to book tickets for individual concerts at the members’ discounted rate.

Individual concert prices

Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Book online
Select your tickets below

In person
Tickets are available from Opus 13 Music Shop, 14 St Michael’s Hill and Henleaze Post Office on Henleaze Road

By telephone
Ring 07766 105491 or Opus 13 Music shop 0117 923 0164

On the door
Tickets are available on the door from 6.15pm