Henleaze Concert Society: Majesty and Grace

Fingal's Cave

Pre-concert talk with David Bednall at 6.45pm

Mendelssohn Hebrides overture
Strauss Oboe Concerto in D major
Beethoven Symphony No.8 in F major

Imogen Triner oboe

The 2019-2020 Henleaze Concert Society season begins in majestic style with a performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8, a work of universal appeal, full of athleticism and unbridled elation. The symphony is a masterpiece of harmonic invention, posing questions and tantalising the listener. It is paired with another work which focuses on distinctive thematic elements, Strauss’s Oboe Concerto. Written in 1945, it was one of the last works composed near the end of the composer’s life and is graceful and charming. The concert opens with Mendelssohn’s well-loved, lyrical Hebrides overture.


Photograph of Fingal’s Cave by dun_deagh from Flickr


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL

Season Tickets and Annual Society Membership
Season tickets are only £75 including Society Membership and admission to all six concerts from September to July. Alternatively, becoming a member of Henleaze Concert Society for £12 entitles you to book tickets for individual concerts at the members’ discounted rate. Season tickets and membership are available to buy by post by returning the Ticket Order Form with your payment and a stamped addressed envelope.