Henleaze Concert Society: Four Seasons Recomposed


Max Richter Vivaldi’s Four Seasons Recomposed
Arvo Pärt Tabula Rasa

Roger Huckle and Simon Kodurand violin

Pre-concert talk with David Bednall at 6.45pm

Roger Huckle is the soloist in a performance of Max Richter’s reimagining of Antonio Vivaldi’s famous concertos, depicting the four seasons of the year in vivid, descriptive writing.

Arvo Pärt’s Tabula Rasa is a mesmerising and captivating work in his unique tintinnabula style. Three textural layers comprising soloists, prepared piano, and strings assume distinct roles within the musical process at the heart of the piece. The first movement, Ludis (‘Game’), is lively and nimble, finishing with a cadenza of a whirlwind of arpeggios for the soloists and piano. Silentium (‘Silence’) is pure tintinnabulation, soft triadic oscillations over scales in the bass. At the end, the instruments gradually drop out as the music gradually descends into the depths.


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL

Season Tickets and Annual Society Membership
Season tickets are only £75 including Society Membership and admission to all six concerts from September to July. Alternatively, becoming a member of Henleaze Concert Society for £12 entitles you to book tickets for individual concerts at the members’ discounted rate. Season tickets and membership are available to buy by post by returning the Ticket Order Form with your payment and a stamped addressed envelope.