Henleaze Concert Society: Viva Vivaldi


Vivaldi Bassoon Concerto in E minor RV 484
Vivaldi Flute Concerto ‘Il Gardellino’, RV 428
Vivaldi Concerto for Oboe and Violin in B flat major, RV 548
Vivaldi Concerto for Two Cellos in G minor, RV 531
Vivaldi Violin Concerto In A Minor RV 356
Isabella Leonarda Sonata For 2 Violins Op. 16 No. 1 [composer profile]

Sally Bartholomew bassoon
Roger Armstrong flute
Imogen Triner oboe
Roger Huckle violin
Simon Kodurand violin
Jane Fenton cello
Juliet McCarthy cello

Be transported to Vivaldi’s Venice in this celebration of the composer’s flamboyant and exhilarating works which remain universally popular because of their ability to speak directly to the heart of the listener. Principals of the Bristol Ensemble perform dazzling concertos displaying exquisite beauty and abundant vitality.

The programme also include the Sonata for Two Violins by the 17th century composer Isabella Leonarda, one of a set of 11 sonatas which were the earliest published instrumental works by a woman. The daughter of a prominent family of Novara, 40km west of Milan, Leonarda spent almost her entire adult life cloistered at the Collegio di Sant’Orsola, composing around 200 pieces. Throughout 2018, Bristol Ensemble is programming music by women composers, marking the 100th anniversary of women in Great Britain getting the vote.


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL