Henleaze Concert Society: Strings Showcase


Britten Simple Symphony Op.4
Massenet Meditation from Thaïs
Schubert Rondo in A for Violin and Strings, D. 438
Dvořák Serenade For Strings in E Op.22

Roger Huckle violin

Pre-concert talk with David Bednall at 6.45pm

The versatile and virtuosic Bristol Ensemble strings take centre stage in a varied programme that ranges from Dvorak’s lyrical and energetic Serenade for Strings – said to have been composed in only 12 days – and Britten’s youthful and boisterous Simple Symphony, to the exquisitely beautiful Meditation from Thaïs. With its dream-like harmonies and expressive violin solo, this is a treasured gem of a work. Schubert’s Rondo explores a variety of themes, showing off the virtuosity of the soloist and accompanying ensemble.


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL