Henleaze Concert Society: Prairies and Pastures

Prairies and Pastures

Copland Appalachian Spring
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Copland Hoedown from Rodeo
Barber Knoxville: Summer of 1915

Pre-concert talk with David Bednall at 6.45pm

That most English of masterpieces, The Lark Ascending, was written against the backdrop of war and depicts freedom and hope so eloquently that it has become the nation’s favourite instrumental work. The soaring violin solo rises higher and higher, depicting the bird circling above English meadows.

From across the Atlantic, Copland’s distinctively American soundscape is heard in Appalachian Spring and Hoedown, lively and evocative works. Barber’s work for solo soprano paints an idyllic, nostalgic picture of Knoxville, Tennessee in the early twentieth century, evoking warm summer evenings through childhood memories.

Image by David Mark from Pixabay


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL

Season Tickets and Annual Society Membership
Season tickets are only £75 including Society Membership and admission to all six concerts from September to July. Alternatively, becoming a member of Henleaze Concert Society for £12 entitles you to book tickets for individual concerts at the members’ discounted rate. Season tickets and membership are available to buy by post by returning the Ticket Order Form with your payment and a stamped addressed envelope.