Henleaze Concert Society: Piano Quintets


Schubert Trout Quintet D.667
Vaughan Williams Piano Quintet in C minor

Pre-concert talk with David Bednall at 6.45pm

Piano quintets feature in this first concert of the new year with Schubert’s enduringly popular and elegant Trout, paired with Vaughan Williams’ Piano Quintet in C minor.

Vaughan Williams’ early chamber work uses the same rich instrumentation (piano with violin, viola, cello and double bass) and is expansive and Brahmsian in its first movement harmonies, but the style and traits of this most English of composers is unmistakable in the second movement. Ursula Vaughan Williams donated the score of the work to the British Library with an embargo on performance, which remained in place until the 1990s.


Season ticket for six series concerts £75 including membership
Annual Society Membership £12
Tickets for members £13.50
Tickets for non members £16.50
Under 25 year olds £5

How to book

Buy tickets now

Tickets are available from Opus 13 music shop, by telephone on 0117 923 0164, and from the shop at St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.  Card payments accepted. The shop is open from 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.

Tickets are also on sale at Henleaze Post Office.

You can also book by sending a cheque payable to Henleaze Concert Society, covering note and SAE to 2 Saville Mews, Kingsdown Parade, Bristol BS6 5UL