Bristol Choral Society

Bristol Choral Society

Mendelssohn Hear my prayer
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Mozart Mass in C minor

Bristol Choral Society
Roger Huckle leader
Hilary Campbell conductor
Julia Hwang violin

Lucy de Butts soprano
Vanessa Bowers soprano
Ben Thapa tenor
Rene Bloice-Sanders bass

Mendelssohn’s iconic dove takes wing alongside the most imposing of all Mozart’s Masses – tragically incomplete like the Requiem whose intensity it rivals. Between them, poised and impassioned, comes an evergreen concerto returning one of Bristol’s own to the Colston Hall stage.

Mozart’s C minor Mass isn’t known as the ‘Great’ for nothing. A glowering masterpiece standing between ‘Bach in B minor’ and Beethoven’s mighty Missa Solemnis, it remains a tantalising torso, protean in its expressive power, yet infinitely ‘human’ thanks to the seductive brilliance of its solo vocal writing. (The exuberant Benedictus could almost have leapt straight off the operatic stage and into the choir loft). Mendelssohn stakes an exclusive claim on the first half with two works – completed in the same year – that need no introduction: a psalm-setting showcase for the soprano voice, and a groundbreaking concerto blending ardent lyricism with a spot of scampering ‘midsummer night’s dreaming’. To play it is Julia Hwang, a young violinist who’s no stranger to Bristol (she’s an alumna of Clifton College), nor indeed to the Bristol Choral Society since she gave a memorably performance of Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending at their summer concert in 2015.

Tickets £26, £21, £16, £11; under 25s £5, OAPs 10% discount from Colston Hall box office online or by phone on 0844 887 1500.