Brandenburg Concertos

Simon Kodurand director / violin 
Hugh Blogg violin
Amelia Grenfell violin
Carl Hill viola
Jane Fenton cello
Jub Davis double bass
Julian Perkins harpsichord
Roger Armstrong flute
Imogen Triner recorder
Kim Keeble recorder

G.F. Handel Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
John Rutter Suite Antique
J.S. Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
J.S. Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

In Bach’s music we find solace, hope and all of humanity, so it’s no surprise that people have turned to it for comfort and consolation over the past few months. In these one-hour concerts, Bristol Ensemble will fill St George’s once again with performances of two bright and uplifting Brandenburg Concertos. 

The Fourth Concerto interweaves two sprightly recorders with solo violin, performed in these concerts by Hugh Blogg, against a backdrop of strings. The joyful Allegro is followed by a contemplative Andante, and the finale is a sparkling fugal movement with plenty of opportunity for the soloists to demonstrate their virtuosity.

John Rutter’s Suite Antique is a companion piece to the Brandenburg Concerto No.5, scored in six movements for the same forces. It explores a variety of Baroque and Classical styles from a Bach-like Aria to a ‘Richard Rodgers-style Waltz’.

Bach’s innovative Fifth Brandenburg Concerto features virtuosic harpsichord playing, designed by the composer to show off his own tremendous skill at the keyboard. Solo flautist Roger Armstrong and violinist Simon Kodurand join the harpsichordist Julian Perkins to make up a lead trio in this joyous work, full of driving rhythmic passages and ingenious counterpoint. Music from the age of opulence – the perfect antidote to the present day!

Tickets are £20, available online from St George’s box office or by phone on 0845 40 24 001

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.