Beyond the Menagerie

Beyond the menagerie

Bristol Ensemble
John Pickard conductor

Copland Hoe Down
Saint-Saëns Danse Macabre
Roxanna Panufnik Down The Rabbit Hole
James MacMillan After the Tryst
Julian Leeks Building The City
John Pickard, Anna Meredith, Michael Ellison, Geoff Poole A Modern Menagerie (highlights)

A gala concert celebrating five years of New Music in the South West. Featuring specially arranged repertoire classics and the most popular NMSW commissions, including highlights from the delightful A Modern Menagerie, a contemporary response to Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals.

The programme also provides a glimpse into the future of music with new work by composers from the St George’s Bristol/NMSW Young Composers Academy and shortlisted pieces from the Sound World Young Composers’ Prize – Sound World’s annual search for the region’s brightest young composing talents.

Presented by the new music and education charity Sound World