Benedetti, Van Der Heijden and Chauhan

Nicola Benedetti violin
Laura van der Heijden cello
Bristol Ensemble
Alpesh Chauhan conductor

Beethoven Coriolan Overture Op 62
Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1 in C
Mendelssohn Notturno from A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2 Op 63

In the 40th anniversary year of the BBC Young Musician competition, St George’s Bristol launches its new season – and celebrates the new St George’s building – with two previous winners. Laura van der Heijden, winner in 2012 and now 21, shows her impressive maturity with Hadyn’s C major concerto. After the interval, the 2004 winner Nicola Benedetti makes a welcome return to St George’s for Prokofiev’s 2nd violin concerto with rising star conductor Alpesh Chauhan and the Bristol Ensemble.

Tickets £40, £35, £30, £25, £15; £5 students (limited availability)

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable