Baroque Online Concert II




Sunday 14 February at 6pm
Online concert

J.S. Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
John Rutter Suite Antique – movements 2, 3 and 4
Interview with Simon Kodurand and Julian Perkins

Simon Kodurand director / violin 
Hugh Blogg violin
Amelia Grenfell violin
Carl Hill viola
Jane Fenton cello
Jub Davis double bass
Julian Perkins harpsichord
Roger Armstrong flute
Imogen Triner recorder
Kim Keeble recorder

Filmed at St George’s Bristol in October 2020, join Bristol Ensemble for a concert of sparkling music from the Baroque, and John Rutter’s tapestry of styles from across the centuries.

Bach’s innovative Fifth Brandenburg Concerto features virtuosic harpsichord playing, designed by the composer to show off his own tremendous skill at the keyboard. Solo flautist Roger Armstrong and violinist Simon Kodurand join the harpsichordist Julian Perkins to make up a lead trio in this joyous work, full of driving rhythmic passages and ingenious counterpoint. Music from the age of opulence – the perfect antidote to the present day!

The concert also includes three movements from John Rutter’s Suite Antique, written as a companion piece to the Brandenburg Concerto No.5. It explores a variety of Baroque and Classical styles from a Bach-like Aria to a ‘Richard Rodgers-style Waltz’.

The concert will be streamed at 6pm on 14 February, and will be available to rewatch until 28 February. Ticket holders can return via the same link that is in the e-ticket pdf.

The e-ticket is available to download after the checkout process is completed, and you will also receive a link in a confirmation email that is sent immediately after your payment has been completed. If you aren’t able to download the e-ticket and don’t receive the email, please get in touch. We will also be monitoring the email in the hour or so before the concert gets under way to help if you have any problems accessing the stream. Please email