Online concert – a flute fantasy

Debussy Syrinx
Carl Nielsen 
The Children are Playing
Flute Quartet in D K.285
Interview with Roger Armstrong

Roger Armstrong flute
Simon Kodurand violin 
Carl Hill
Harriet Wiltshire

Link to watch the concert

Mozart makes the flute the hero of his lively and elegant quartet, with the instrument enjoying a prominent role, accompanied by the strings. It’s a compact work but packs plenty of colour and exuberance into its three movements. It’s paired with two solo pieces for flute – Nielsen’s sprightly and nimble The Children are Playing, and Syrinx by Claude Debussy. Originally written as incidental music to Psyche, a play which his friend, poet and dramatist Gabriel Mouray had written, it is haunting and ethereal. 

The concert will be streamed at 6pm on 28 February, and will be available to rewatch until 28 March. Ticket holders can return via the same link that is in the e-ticket pdf.

The e-ticket is available to download after the checkout process is completed, and you will also receive a link in a confirmation email that is sent immediately after your payment has been completed. If you aren’t able to download the e-ticket and don’t receive the email, please get in touch. We will also be monitoring the email in the hour or so before the concert gets under way to help if you have any problems accessing the stream. Please email