Northern Lights: Grieg with Peter Donohoe

  • Friday 25 April 2014 7.30pm
  • BRISTOL Colston Hall (Map)
  • Northern Lights: Grieg with Peter Donohoe
  • Peter Donohoe: piano
  • Ben Gernon: conductor
  • Halvorsen: Scenes from Norwegian Fairy Tales Op 37
  • Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor Op 16
  • Grieg: Peer Gynt Suites 1 & 2
  • Pre-concert interview with Jerry Cowhig at 6.15pm

Johan Halvorsen‘s colourful Scenes from Norwegian Fairy Tales opens this programme of music from Norway, the second concert in the Ensemble‘s Northern Lights series. Halvorsen considered the dances to be his best work, vividly depicting trolls, kidnapped princesses and fairy tale heroes.

The extraordinary and unmistakable opening bars of Grieg‘s piano concerto precedes some of the most beautiful and recognisable melodies to be found in any concerto. Some of the best known themes are inspired by Norwegian folk music and the work displays a wonderfully Nordic character. For this performance, the Bristol Ensemble is joined by one of the foremost pianists of our time, Peter Donohoe. In the years since his unprecedented success as Silver Medal winner of the 1982 Seventh International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, Peter Donohoe has built an extraordinary world-wide career, encompassing a huge repertoire and over forty years’ experience as a concert pianist.

The programme is completed by Grieg‘s Peer Gynt suites, set in the Middle East and including the majestic Morning Mood and the sinister drama of In the Hall of the Mountain King.

The concert is conducted by Ben Gernon, winner of the Nestlé and Salzburg Young Conductors Award 2013 and professor of Musicality at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Ben has a natural infinity with the musicians of the orchestra and is a gifted communicator.

Tickets are available from the Colston Hall box office now. Telephone 0844 887 1500, book online or call into the Colston Hall box office in person

Single concert tickets £29, £25, £20, £15, under 26s £8, under 18s £1

Series tickets - buy tickets for the first two concerts, get a ticket for the third free in the same price band. Click here to book a series ticket online