Northern Lights: Sibelius with Chloë Hanslip

  • Thursday 20 March 2014 7.30pm
  • BRISTOL Colston Hall (Map)
  • Northern Lights: Sibelius with Chloë Hanslip
  • Chloë Hanslip: violin
  • Ben Gernon: conductor
  • Sibelius: Finlandia
  • Sibelius: Violin Concerto
  • Sibelius: Symphony No.5
  • Pre-concert interview with Jerry Cowhig at 6.15pm

The Ensemble‘s Northern Lights series opens with an all-Sibelius programme. His symphonic poem, the rousing and turbulent Finlandia, is a passionate account of national pride and struggle, concluding with the beauty of a peaceful chorale.

The orchestra is joined by Chloë Hanslip to perform the hauntingly romantic Violin Concerto in D minor. At the age of 25, Hanslip is already an established international artist of distinction and has appeared around the world in major venues and festivals including the BBC Proms, Carnegie Hall, the Metropolitan Arts Space in Tokyo and Seoul Arts Centre. The Violin Concerto is amongst Sibelius‘ best-loved works, combining passionate lyricism in its colourful, nature-inspired themes with dazzling virtuosic writing.

Sibelius‘ radiant Fifth Symphony is a glorious symphony, inspired by Finnish landscape, forests and lakes. The composer noted in his diary in April 1915 that he had seen a flight of sixteen swans, "one of the greatest impressions of my life!", and his response was the spectacular ‘swan theme‘, of the finale, splendidly proclaimed by the French horns.

The concert is conducted by Ben Gernon, winner of the Nestlé and Salzburg Young Conductors Award 2013 and professor of Musicality at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Ben has a natural infinity with the musicians of the orchestra and is a gifted communicator.

Tickets are available from the Colston Hall box office now. Telephone 0844 887 1500, book online or call into the Colston Hall box office in person

Single concert tickets £29, £25, £20, £15, under 26s £8, under 18s £1

Series tickets - buy tickets for the first two concerts, get a ticket for the third free in the same price band. Click here to book a series ticket online